New Members Appointed To Expanded Scientific Advisory Committees.

13 June, 19

The Scientific Advisory Committees advise on the development of policy issues that have major implications for public health and ensure that policy decisions are based on the most up-to-date science and evidence.

Heather Hancock said:

‘We have appointed a multidisciplinary team of distinguished experts with outstanding international reputations to ensure that we are using the right science, from the right sources, and looking at every scientific dimension to the question in front of us.

‘As we move into this period of significant change, the public can be confident any decisions made and advice issued by the FSA comes from a solid science and evidence base.’

Professor Guy Poppy, Chief Scientific Adviser at the FSA, said:

‘Our Scientific Advisory Committees have never been more vital to science at the FSA. This was an unprecedented recruitment campaign to strengthen the FSA’s robust science capability and the work of all our members will make a positive impact on food policy in this country.’

The 35 new members come from the UK, Ireland, France and Switzerland.

New appointments

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Safety of Food (ACMSF)

Dr Wayne Anderson, Food Safety Authority of Ireland

Martin Briggs, GLW Feeds

Professor Francis Butler, University College Dublin

Dr Edward Fox, Northumbria University

Dr Jane Gibbens, Consultant veterinary epidemiologist

Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes (ACNFP)

Dr Mark Berry, retired

Professor Harry McArdle, Rowett Research Institute, University of Aberdeen

Professor Paul Fraser, School of Biological Sciences at Royal Holloway University

Professor Huw Jones, Aberystwyth University

Professor Clare Mills, School of Translational Medicine, University of Manchester

Dr Maureen Wakefield, Fera

Committee on Toxicity (COT)

Stuart Adams, Waters Corporation

Dr Emma Bradley, Fera

Dr Allain Bueno, University of Worcester

Professor Katrina Campbell, Queens University Belfast

Prof. Qasim Chaudry, University of Chester

Dr Gill Clare, Independent Consultant

Dr Stella Cochrane, Unilever

Dr Sibylle Ermler, Brunel University

Dr Natalia Falagan, Cranfield University

Dr Garry Hutchison, Edinburgh Napier University

Professor Nicholas Jonsson, University of Glasgow

Dr Gunter Kuhnle, University of Reading

Dr Claude Lambre, French Institute for Health and Medical Research

Dr David Lovell, St George’s Medical School, University of London

Susan MacDonald, Fera

Dr Olwenn Martin, Brunel University

Dr Mac Provan, independent consultant

Dr Martin Rose, University of Manchester

Dr Michael Routledge, School of Medicine at Leeds

Dr Cheryl Scudamore, Abbey Veterinary Services/NationWide Laboratories

Dr Natalie Thatcher, Mondelēz International

Dr Michael Walker, Office of the Government Chemist

Professor John Wallace, University of Aberdeen

Professor Maged Younes, Independent International Expert


Committee on Toxicity (COT)

Rene Crevel, Unilever’s Safety and Environmental Assurance Centre – reappointed for three years.

Dr Caroline Harris, Health Sciences Centre for Chemical Regulation and Food Safety at Exponent – reappointed for three years.

Dr John Thompson, Clinical Pharmacology at the Wales College of Medicine, Cardiff University – reappointed for one years.

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Safety of Food (ACMSF)

Dr Goutam (Bob) Adak, retired

Dr Roy Betts, Campben BRI

Emma Hill, CHO&Co Catering Group Ltd

Professor Miren Iturriza-Gómara, University of Liverpool

Alec Kyriakides, J Sainsbury’s Plc

Heather Lawson, Royal Borough of Greenwich

Dr Gwen Lowe, Consultant in Public Heath Medicine

Joint Expert Committees

The FSA has also created Joint Expert Groups (JEGs), that will be made up of members of COT, ACMSF and ACAF. They will be responsible for doing specialised risk assessments for regulated products, as well as overseeing and providing assurance for the risk assessment process after the UK leaves the European Union. The three groups are the:

Joint Expert Group on Food Contact Materials, supporting the COT and ACMSF. It assesses and advises the committees on the safety of materials that come into contact with food during its production, processing, storage, preparation and serving.

Joint Expert Group on Additives, Enzymes and Other Regulated Products, supporting the COT and ACMSF. It assesses and advises the committees on the safety of food additives, enzymes and other regulated products such as flavourings.

Joint Expert Group on Animal Feed and Feed Additives supports the COT and ACAF. It assesses and advises the committees on the safety of feed additives and substances used in animal feed for both animals and human consumers of animal-derived products

The recruitment exercise was carried out through open competition. New members have been appointed for initial terms of three years, with the possibility of reappointment.

Related posts

21 March, 24
“When asked about the potential dangers of PFAS after being shown the definition, 96% of those surveyed stated that they were concerned about its potential dangers.”

Latest posts